The Arts Society Haslemere
HOME PROGRAMME  down arrow VOLUNTEERS  down arrow MEMBERSHIP GALLERY  down arrow CONTACT  down arrow






Several outings to places of artistic and historic interest are arranged each year. The day-long trips include transport to and from Haslemere and start from Haslemere Hall in Bridge Street.

Booking for Outings usually takes place two months in advance at the monthly lectures on the third Tuesday of the month.
Members are asked to turn up to reserve their place and may book and pay for themselves and up to one other member.

Southwark Cathedral

Thursday 15th February

Guided tour of the Cathedral and a Bankside walk with a Cathedral guide.

Booking opens at December 2017 lecture
Ticket price: £36

Price includes morning coffee, tour of Cathedral and walking tour
(Tickets are non refundable)


08.30hrs: Depart Haslemere Hall
10.30hrs approx: Arrive Southwark
10.30–11.00hrs: Coffee on arrival (incl)
11.00hrs: Begin tour of Cathedral
12.30hrs: Lunch (not incl)
14.00hrs: Walking tour begins
15.30hrs: End walking tour at Cathedral
16.00hrs: Depart Southwark
18.00hrs: Arrive Haslemere Hall

Telephone contact no.: 07587142156

Southwark Cathedral or The Cathedral and Collegiate Church of St Saviour and St Mary Overie lies on the south bank of the River Thames close to London Bridge. It is the mother church of the Anglican Diocese of Southwark. It has been a place of Christian worship for more than 1,000 years, but a cathedral only since the creation of the diocese of Southwark in 1905. A verbal tradition passed on to the Elizabethan historian John Stow suggests there was a community of nuns ’long before the Norman Conquest’, possibly in the 7th century. Between 1106 and 1538 it was the church of an Augustinian priory, Southwark Priory, dedicated to the Virgin Mary. Following the dissolution of the monasteries, it became a parish church, with the new dedication of St Saviour’s. The present building retains the basic form of the Gothic structure built between 1220 and 1420, although the nave is a late 19th–century reconstruction.

Bankside, the area surrounding Southwark Cathedral, has a rich and colourful history.  Sometimes referred to by those on the City side of the Thames as the “side of the undesirables”, this walking tour records the time when bishops, bards and prostitutes lived and worked alongside each other. The walk will stop at various locations including the ruin of one of London’s riverside palaces, the site of Southwark’s famous Clink prison, St Mary Overy Dock, the Deanery and the many sites associated with Shakespeare.

Russell Cotes Museum

Tuesday 12th June

Victorian Mansion House Museum and an exhibition to celebrate 250 years of the Royal Academy.

Booking opens at April lecture

Ticket price: TBA
Price includes tour and entry to exhibition
(Tickets are non refundable)


08.15hrs: Depart Haslemere Hall (time TBD with Farnham Coaches)
10.30hrs: Arrive Russell Cotes Museum
10.30–11.00hrs: Coffee and pastries on arrival
11.00hrs: First group tour begins
12.00hrs approx: Second group tour begins
13.00hrs approx: Lunch (incl - TBD)
14.00hrs: Free time to further explore Museum and exhibition
15.30hrs: Depart Museum
18.00hrs: Arrive Haslemere Hall


Telephone contact no.: 07587142156

In 1901 Merton Russell–Cotes gave his wife Annie a dream house on a cliff-top, overlooking the sea. It was an extraordinary, extravagant birthday present – lavish, splendid, and with a touch of fantasy. They filled this exotic seaside villa with beautiful objects from their travels across the world, and lined the walls with a remarkable collection of British art, creating a unique atmosphere in a most dramatic setting. A home, an art gallery, and a museum. Then they sealed it in time, and gave it to the future.
For 2018 only, the museum is holding an exhibition to commemorate 250 years of the Royal Academy.

The Theatre Royal, Bath

Thursday 11th October

Backstage lecture and tour of the Theatre with a short performance. Coach tour of Bath after lunch.

Booking opens at June lecture

Ticket price: TBA
Price includes theatre tour, talk and performance, city tour and lunch
(Tickets are non refundable)


08.00hrs: Depart Haslemere Hall
10.30hrs approx: Arrive Bath
11.00hrs: Coffee on arrival at the theatre
11.30hrs: Guided tour of the theatre
12.15hrs approx: Illustrated talk (subject TBD)
13.30hrs: Lunch (incl)
14.30hrs: Performance by Kim Hicks in 1805 Rooms
15.45hrs: Guided city tour of Bath in coach
16.30hrs: Depart Bath
18.30hrs: Arrive Haslemere Hall

Telephone contact no.: 07587142156

The Theatre Royal in Bath was built in 1805. A Grade II listed building, it has been described by the Theatres Trust as "One of the most important surviving examples of Georgian theatre architecture". It has a capacity for an audience of around 900.

The Theatre Royal was built to replace the Old Orchard Street Theatre, funded by a Tontine and elaborately decorated. The architect was George Dance the Younger, with John Palmer carrying out much of the work. It opened with a performance of Shakespeare’s Richard III and hosted performances by many leading actors of the time. A major fire in 1862 destroyed the interior of the building and was quickly followed by a rebuilding programme by Charles J. Phipps, which included the construction of the current entrance. It has undergone various refurbishments over the years, one in 1979, following public donations and when the theatre was bought by a trust, and the most recent in 2010 when work was carried out on the main auditorium.

Jane Tapley
is a highly experienced blue badge guide of many years and has a long association with the Theatre Royal. Jane’s knowledge and expertise of the Theatre makes her a unique and ideal guide for our day.  Jane will meet us on arrival and be our guide for the whole day.  As this outing is linked to the Study Day in May (click here for more info) it would be good if you could come to both the Study Day and the Outing with Jane Tapley . However, each one is complete on its own.


A guided behind–the–scenes tour of Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Club with a Blue Badge Guide and a free flow tour of Wimbledon Tennis Museum.

The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club was founded in 1868 and is responsible for the world’s leading tennis tournament. Lawn tennis was invented by Major Walter Clopton Wingfield and was introduced at the Club in 1875. Two years later the Club was renamed “The All England Croquet and Lawn Tennis Club” and the first ever Lawn Tennis Championship took place. A new code of laws was drawn up and most of those laws still stand today. The first Ladies’ Championships took place in 1884. Its first ground was off Worple Road, Wimbledon, until the Club moved in 1922 to the present site in Church Road.
After the tour visit the Museum to experience the history and traditions of ‘the Fortnight’, see the Championships Trophies, feel the fabrics of tennis fashions from the Victorian period and learn about how The Championships have developed since 1877.

Booking opened at September lecture

Ticket price: £43 (to include morning coffee and hot lunch)


09.15hrs: Depart Haslemere Hall
10.15hrs: Arrive Wimbledon LTC, coffee on arrival (incl)
11.00hrs: Guided backstage tour of Wimbledon with Blue Badge guide
12.30hrs approx: Hot lunch (incl)
14.00 hrs: Free flow tour of Museum
15.30 hrs: Depart Wimbledon LTC
16.30–17.00hrs: Arrive Haslemere
(Please note comfortable shoes recommended)